A Path Toward Teacher Certification
The New York State Education Department's Office of Teaching Initiatives provides comprehensive information regarding the teacher certification process in New York State, including an FAQ page that will answer most of your questions.
TEACHER CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS: HOW AND WHEN
The New York State Education Department (NYSED) requires teachers to obtain certification before they can teach. Remember, it is your responsibility to stay current on deadlines for graduation, New York State Teacher’s Certification Examinations (NYSTCE), certification applications, and requirements.
The steps to become recommended for certification by Marist College involve the following:
You must complete one of our NCATE approved programs of study in education, including an acceptable academic major, the required pedagogical coursework, student teaching placements, and a conferred degree upon graduation.
Fingerprinting by MorphoTrust:
THIS MESSAGE IS VERY IMPORTANT FOR YOU IF YOU HAVE NOT YET BEEN FINGERPRINTED FOR YOUR TEACH ACCOUNT.
The New York State Education Department (NYSED) will phase out the “roll and ink” method and the Livescan methods of fingerprinting beginning July 15, 2015. Anyone who has not fully completed the fingerprint process by either of those two methods by July 15 will need to start the fingerprint application process using NYSED's newly adopted MorphoTrust program.
MorphoTrust is a private vendor contracted by New York State to handle the fingerprinting requirements for educators, governmental offices, and other services that require fingerprint clearance.
MorphoTrust maintains service centers throughout New York. The candidate makes an appointment at one of the centers through a web-based online system. Location of the centers may be found at:
After July 15, 2015, it will be the candidate’s responsibility to make an appointment for one of the MorphoTrust centers. FIRST, candidates are required to complete the fingerprint application and payment via TEACH website (approx. $95). Once that is complete, bring your receipt of payment to the MorphoTrust center in your area, and your fingerprints will be processed for a $10 fee.
Marist CAN NO LONGER provide fingerprinting services. The candidate is fully responsible for getting fingerprinted in a timely manner so that clearance is received PRIOR to student teaching. A candidate will not be permitted to student teach without first receiving fingerprint clearance.
You are encouraged to get your fingerprinting done early in the program so that you will be ready to go!!!!
Child Abuse Identification Workshop and SAVE/School Violence Prevention: These trainings need to be completed prior to student teaching. On-campus workshops are offered each semester. Proof of completion will be documented on your transcripts once the workshop is completed.
Take the Child Abuse Seminar (if interested in taking online, see www.nysmandatedreporter.org, or www.childabuseworkshop.com). If taken anywhere other than Marist College, A COPY OF THE CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION must be brought to the Education Department Office in Dyson 388. Remember to save a copy for yourself.
Take the SAVE Seminar (if interested in taking online, see www.violenceworkshop.com). If taken anywhere other than Marist College, A COPY OF THE CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION must be brought to the Education Department Office in Dyson 388. Remember to save a copy for yourself.
DASA (Dignity for All Students Act training):
Starting in 2014 and onward, the Dignity for All Students Act training must be documented on your transcripts for recommendation. On-campus workshops will be offered each semester. Proof of completion for the on-campus version will be documented on your transcript once the workshop is completed. Please watch for announcements for this workshop. Otherwise, take the DASA training at Ulster BOCES Center for School Safety. (The address is 175 Rte 32 North, New Paltz, NY 12561. 845-255-1400.) A fee will be charged. If you complete the training off-campus, you need to have your Dignity for All Students Act workshop documented on your permanent record for recommendation by SENDING A COPY OF YOUR WORKSHOP CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION to Marist’s Education Department.
TEACHING CERTIFICATE APPLICATION:
When you start your first student teaching placement, apply for your Teaching Certificate on your TEACH Account at http://www.highered.nysed.gov/tcert/teach/. There will be a fee.
Student Application Information Sheets with step-by-step directions (and Program Codes) will show you how to register, log-in, and apply for the appropriate teaching certificate. You can only use the specific Program Code that corresponds to your registered degree and program at Marist College.
Psychology/Special Education candidates first apply for their New York initial teaching certificate in the area where their edTPA submission was successful. This is either Elementary Education (grades 1-6) or Students with Disabilities (grades 1-6). After that initial certification is issued on your TEACH account, go ahead and apply for the other certificate.
CHILDHOOD ED & SPECIAL ED (SWD) 1-6
Childhood Ed 1-6: 23306
Special Ed 1-6: 23307
ADOLESCENCE ED (7-12)
Social Studies: 26145
GRADUATE EDUCATION PROGRAMS
M.A. Educational Psychology: 90010 or 33664
M.A. Educational Psychology Five-Year Program: 26142
Master of Education (M.Ed).: 30611
TEACH Account Password Reset:
There’s a self-service feature for students to retrieve their TEACH Account User IDs and Passwords with no waiting time for email responses. Simply click on “USERNAME go to” or “PASSWORD go to” on this link: http://www.highered.nysed.gov/tcert/teach/report.html.
At its May 2015 meeting the New York State Board of Regents approved an emergency regulation extending the edTPA Safety Net and created safety nets for the Academic Literacy Skills Test (ALST) and the Educating All Students test (EAS) and certain Content Specialty Tests (CSTs). For the safety net to be used, a candidate must first submit the edTPA or take one of the designated tests. Upon not achieving a passing score, the candidate may re-take the assessment or use the safety net option. The following link provides the details of the safety net plan as it is currently known:
Candidates for certification must achieve qualifying scores on the appropriate tests in the New York State Teacher Certification Examination (NYSTCE) program. Register for the tests at http://www.nystce.nesinc.com/ as you prepare to take them.
NYSTCE Exams Guide for Childhood Education/Students with Disabilities: Click here.
NYSTCE Exams Guide for Adolescence Education: Click here.
***Candidates graduating in May 2014 of after should take the new tests: edTPA, EAS, ALST, and Revised CSTs. For more information, check: http://www.nystce.nesinc.com/NY_annProgramUpdate.asp and
For more information about the NYSTCE program, please check http://www.highered.nysed.gov/tcert/faqtests.html.
Marist College can recommend you for certification after your degree has been conferred (usually 2-3 weeks after grades are submitted), and then NYSED requires approximately 60 days to evaluate your application. Check your TEACH account “Evaluation History” for details on the processing of your application, as you may be missing a requirement, such as a workshop or a test. If all the requirements are met, you will be given a Control Number on your TEACH account, which you can use as verification for job applications. Log in to your account to check your status: http://www.highered.nysed.gov/tcert/teach/.
Substitute Teaching in New York: Access the following link for requirements to be a substitute teacher in New York: http://www.highered.nysed.gov/tcert/certificate/substituteteaching.html.
Interstate Reciprocity: Those wishing to teach in states other than New York should check the Certification Map for information on each state's reciprocity agreement with New York. This map may not be up-to-date due to each state's changing regulations for certification. Check directly with the state of interest for more specific information.
Last revised: May 2015
TEACHER CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS BY STATE
(PLUS D.C. AND PUERTO RICO)
District of Columbia: http://osse.dc.gov/service/teacher-licensure
New Hampshire: http://www.education.nh.gov/certification/
New Jersey: http://www.state.nj.us/education/educators/license/
New Mexico: http://www.ped.state.nm.us/licensure/
New York: http://www.highered.nysed.gov/tcert/
North Carolina: http://www.dpi.state.nc.us/licensure/
North Dakota: http://www.nd.gov/espb/
Rhode Island: http://www.ride.ri.gov/teachersadministrators/educatorcertification.aspx
South Carolina: http://ed.sc.gov/agency/se/Educator-Services/Licensure/
South Dakota: http://www.doe.sd.gov/oatq/teachercert.aspx
West Virginia: http://wvde.state.wv.us/certification/
Puerto Rico: http://www.de.gobierno.pr/tags/certificacion-de-maestros