Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship

Who is eligible? A full-time matriculated sophomore or junior pursuing a degree in the sciences at an accredited institution of higher education, and planning to pursue a research career. The student should have a college grade-point average of at least 3.5, should pursue formal research opportunities in the student's field of studies, and be in the upper fourth of his or her class.
When is the Deadline? Campus Deadline: December 16, 2013
Goldwater Deadline: January 31, 2014
Description The award has a maximum value of $7,500, and sophomore applicants are eligible for up to two years of scholarship support. The program hopes to encourage the pursuit of advanced, non-medical degrees in the sciences.
How Do I Apply? All candidates for scholarships are nominated by their college or university. Four-year institutions may nominate no more than four students.
Essay(s): The Nominee's Essay addresses a specific issue of interest to the student, and suggests a particular idea for research that might advance understanding of the issue.
What happens after I submit an application? In March 2005, the Goldwater Scholars and Alternates are selected by the Board of the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation.
What's next? In April Nominees and their faculty representatives are notified of their status in the Program.

Congress established the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program in 1986 to honor Senator Barry M. Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years of service in the U.S. Senate. The purpose of the Foundation is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue careers in these fields.

The Trustees intend to award up to 300 Goldwater Scholarships. The number of scholarships to be awarded per state will depend on the number and qualifications of the nominees from the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and, considered as a single entity, Guam, the Virgin Islands, American Samoa, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

For more information visit the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship website