Congratulations to the 2019 Alumni Association Award Recipients!

Elisabeth Tavarez

September 18, 2019—Marist produces outstanding alumni who have enjoyed success in virtually every professional field and who carry the College’s good name far and wide. Since 2012, Marist has recognized its most exceptional graduates with the annual Alumni Association Awards, which are presented at Homecoming and Reunion Weekend. The winners are chosen by the Alumni Awards Committee, made up of the President of the Marist Alumni Association; two members of the Alumni Executive Board; a member of the Board of Trustees; the Executive Director of Alumni Relations; the Student Body President; and a member of the Greystone Board, which includes past Presidents of the Alumni Association.

We invite you to meet the 2019 awardees, each of whom is a credit to the College.

The Dr. Linus Richard Foy ’50 Outstanding Alumnus Award

The highest honor bestowed by the Marist College Alumni Association, this award is named in honor of Dr. Linus Richard Foy, a 1950 graduate and president of Marist from 1958 to 1979. The award recognizes distinguished service by an alumnus or alumna to a profession, to the College, to the nation, or to humanity. The criterion for this award is a continuous record of distinguished service in a chosen field or endeavor that is related to the objectives and purposes of Marist.


John Noonan John Noonan, MD, FACS ’69

A proud graduate of the Class of 1969, John Noonan is a retired managing partner of The Plastic Surgery Group in Albany, New York and has been one of the most active Marist alumni in the Albany area.  Specializing in cosmetic surgery, cranio-facial reconstruction, and cleft lips/palates, he was an early participant in Operation Smile, a nonprofit medical treatment organization that dispatches medical teams headed by plastic surgeons to poor rural and urban areas of the United States, as well as countries around the world.  After receiving his BS in biology from Marist Noonan went on to complete his medical degree at SUNY Downstate College of Medicine. 

The Dr. Dennis J. Murray Distinguished Service Award

Presented to an alumnus or alumna who has diligently and faithfully served the Marist Alumni Association for an extended period of time. Service can be in the form of a regional chapter position or any involvement that advances the mission of Marist through dedicated volunteer efforts


John Doherty John F. Doherty, P hD ’69/’88M

John Doc Doherty was president of the Class of 1969 and is one of the College’s most dedicated graduates.  He had a distinguished career with the City of Poughkeepsie Police Department, rising to the rank of captain before joining the Marist College faculty as a professor of criminal justice, retiring in 2017.  Throughout his career, Doherty has always made time to support his alma mater, serving 30 years on the Alumni Association Executive Board and playing an instrumental role in starting Marist’s Homecoming tradition.  A history major at Marist, he also earned a Master in Political Studies degree from Long Island University at CW Post, a Master of Public Administration degree from Marist, and a PhD from Walden University.


The Marist College Young Alumna Award

Presented to an alumnus or alumna who has reached a significant level of achievement in his/her profession and who is a model of the quality and caliber of today’s Marist student


Leanne Klarer Lohr Leanne M. Klarer Lohr ’14

Leanne Klarer Lohr graduated from Marist College in 2014 with a bachelor’s degree in childhood and special education.  As a Marist student, she belonged to Kappa Delta Pi National Honor Society, Sigma Alpha Pi National Society of Leadership and Success, and the Emerging Leaders Program.  She also assisted with the creation of the Council for Exceptional Children, Marist College Chapter.  Through her volunteer and field work experiences, she developed a strong passion for working with those from lower socioeconomic backgrounds.  This desire to assist those in need has led her to numerous career experiences and achievements within the field of special education.  In 2018, Klarer Lohr was recognized with the Wake County Public School System Diane Kent Parker First Year Teacher of the Year award.

Asset Publisher